shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

World Cup winner Sir Geoff Hurst coming to Darlington!

Marathon Bet logo use this one

World Cup winner Sir Geoff Hurst is coming to Darlington!

Sir Geoff Hurst, the man who scored a memorable hat trick in the 1966 World Cup final, is coming to Darlington Football Club for the Marathon Bet Legends Game on 29th July!

Sir Geoff scored the goal in the last minute of extra time on that famous day against West Germany which immortalised commentator Kenneth Wolstenholme’s words; “There are people on the pitch …. They think it’s all over … It is now!” which meant that England won the final 4-2 and lifted the World Cup.

Sir Geoff was interviewed on ITV before the Colombia v England World Cup tie on Tuesday night — and he’s coming to Blackwell Meadows later this month.

Tickets are available at Quaker Retail, and also here on line.

geoff hurst scores the fourth v West Germany

sir geoff hurst

Sir Geoff will be the manager of the Legends team, which includes the following as confirmed by our friends at Marathon Bet:

Joleon Lescott – ex Everton and Manchester City; 26 England caps

Kieron Dyer – ex Ipswich and Newcastle; 33 England caps

Danny Mills – ex Leeds and Middlesbrough; 19 England caps

Luke Young – ex Charlton, Tottenham and Middlesbrough; 7 England caps

Alan Stubbs – ex Bolton, Celtic and Everton

Alan Stubbs

Alan Stubbs

Wayne Bridge – ex Southampton, Chelsea and Manchester City – 36 England caps

Emile Heskey – ex Leicester and Liverpool; 62 England caps


Emile Heskey

Chris Waddle – ex Newcastle and Tottenham; 62 England caps

chris waddle

Chris Waddle

Richard Dunne – ex Everton and Manchester City; 80 Republic of Ireland caps

Julio Arca — ex Sunderland and Middlesbrough

George Boateng — ex Aston Villa and Middlesbrough; 4 Holland caps

Manager: Sir Geoff Hurst – ex West Ham and Stoke, 49 England caps

It will certainly be a fantastic day to remember!


And here’s the Darlo squad:

Robbie Painter

Amar Purewal

Liam Hatch

Steve Foster

Ian Miller

Alan White

Tommy Wright

Graeme Armstrong

Leon Scott

Chris Moore

Peter Jameson

Gary Brown

Chris Senior

Micky Cummins

Martin Smith

Plus two fans who successfully bid for places:

Michael Barrass

Michael Matthews